Friday, January 27

Golf Rule of the Week

Day 97 without playing golf

Q: In error, a referee authorized a player to infringe a Rule of Golf. Is the player absolved from penalty in such a case?

A: Yes. Under Rule 34-2, a referee's decision is final, whether or not the decision is correct.

Whew! Thank goodness for that.

The Armchair Golfer

(Source: USGA)


dave said...

If this had been one of those give your answer I would have been wrong. In golf I always think it is the going to be the answer that makes no since at all.

Luke Swilor said...

That is why Tour players ALWAYS ask for rulings. Can't fault Ernie for his drop from the crane way back at his US open win.