Friday, October 2

Palmer, Ballesteros and Nantz to Present at Induction Ceremony

JIM NANTZ, CHRISTY O’CONNOR JR. and Arnold Palmer will present 2009 Inductees Lanny Wadkins, Christy O’Connor and the late Dwight D. Eisenhower, respectively, at the World Golf Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony next month. Seve Ballesteros will present José María Olazábal through a videotaped message.

Nantz, who shared broadcast responsibilities with Wadkins from 2002 to 2006, said, “Lanny was a champion golfer at every stage of his distinguished career. What always impressed me the most was the way he represented the game with the utmost class and dignity.”

“I think it’s wonderful that he [Eisenhower] is being recognized on this level for the many contributions he made to the game,” Palmer said. “President Eisenhower received many honors in his life, but I think he would have really enjoyed this one.”

Olazábal has asked his good friend and fellow Spaniard Ballesteros, who was diagnosed with a cancerous brain tumor last year and has since undergone multiple surgeries and cancer treatments.

“It is fantastic knowing that Jose Maria will become a member of the Hall of Fame. He deserves it for all he has done and is still doing for golf,” Ballesteros said.

Golf Channel commentator Rich Lerner will host the ceremony, which will take place on Nov. 2 at the World Golf Hall of Fame in St. Augustine, Fla., and will air the same night on the Golf Channel at 9 p.m. ET.

−The Armchair Golfer

(Source: World Golf Hall of Fame)

1 comment:

Golf Master said...

This is great!