Thursday, March 12

Golf on TV: Valspar Championship and Tshwane Open

The following edited content was supplied by Golf Channel in a news release.

The PGA TOUR Florida Swing continues on Florida’s Gulf Coast this week with the Valspar Championship at Innisbrook Resort and Golf Club. Five of the top-10 players in the Official World Golf Ranking are in the field, including Henrik Stenson (No. 3) and Adam Scott (No. 4).

The European Tour concludes the South Africa stretch of its tournament schedule this week with the Tshwane Open, as Ross Fisher defends.

* * *


Valspar Championship
Dates: March 12-15
Venue: Innisbrook Resort & Golf Club (Copperhead Course), Palm Harbor, Fla.

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):          
Thursday         3-6 p.m. (Live) / 7-10 p.m. (Replay)
Friday              3-6 p.m. (Live) / 7-10 p.m. (Replay)
Saturday         1-3 p.m. (Live) / 7 p.m.-Midnight (Replay)
Sunday            1-3 p.m. (Live) / 7 p.m.-Midnight (Replay)

Tournament Airtimes on NBC (Eastern):
Saturday          3-6 p.m. (Live)
Sunday            3-6 p.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes

Senden defends: John Senden finished one stroke ahead of Kevin Na for his second PGA TOUR victory.

Headlining the field: Henrik Stenson, Adam Scott, Patrick Reed, Justin Rose, Jordan Spieth, Jim Furyk, Matt Kuchar, Lee Westwod, Brandt Snedeker, Justin Thomas and John Senden.

* * *


Tshwane Open
Dates: March 12-15
Venue: Pretoria Country Club, Waterkloof, South Africa

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):          
Thursday         4:30-6:30 a.m. (Live) / 8:30-11:30 a.m. (Live)
Friday              6:30-8:30 a.m. (Tape Delay) / 8:30-11:30 a.m. (Live)
Saturday          6:30-10:30 a.m. (Live)
Sunday            6-10:30 a.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes

New venue: This is the first time that the Tshwane Open will be contested at Pretoria Country Club. The previous two editions of the event were held at Copperleaf Golf & Country Estate.

Fisher defends: Ross Fisher won by three shots over Danie van Tonder and Michael Hoey for his fifth career European Tour victory.

Headlining the field: Darren Clarke, Mattero Manassero, Edoardo Molinari, George Coetzee, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Andy Sullivan, Oliver Wilson, David Howell and Ross Fisher.

No comments: