Thursday, April 23

Golf on TV: Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic, Zurich Classic, Legends of Golf, Volvo China Open

The following edited content was supplied by Golf Channel in a news release.


Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic
Dates: April 23-26
Venue: Lake Merced Golf Club, San Francisco, Calif.

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):          
Thursday         6-9 p.m. (Live)
Friday              6-9 p.m. (Live)
Saturday          6-9 p.m. (Live)
Sunday            6-9 p.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes

Ko leads a strong field: World No. 1 Lydia Ko headlines a field that includes each of the top-10 players in the Rolex Women’s World Golf Rankings.

Ko defends: Lydia Ko finished one stroke ahead of Stacy Lewis for her third career LPGA Tour victory.

Headlining the field: Lydia Ko, Inbee Park, Stacy Lewis, Hyo Joo Kim, Shanshan Feng, Brittany Lincicome, So Yeon Ryu, Suzann Pettersen, Michelle Wie and Lexi Thompson.

* * *


Zurich Classic of New Orleans
Dates: April 23-26
Venue: TPC Louisiana, Avondale, La.

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):           
Thursday         3-6 p.m. (Live) / 9:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m. (Replay)
Friday              3-6 p.m. (Live) / 9:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m. (Replay)
Saturday         1-2:30 p.m. (Live) / 10 p.m.-2:30 a.m. (Replay)
Sunday            1-2:30 p.m. (Live) / 10 p.m.-2:30 a.m. (Replay)

On CBS TV (Eastern)
Saturday 3-6 p.m.
Sunday 3-6 p.m.

Broadcast Notes

Noh defends: Seung-Yul Noh won by two strokes over Robert Streb and Andrew Svoboda for his first career PGA TOUR win.

Headlining the field: Dustin Johnson, Jason Day, Justin Rose, Billy Horschel, Steve Stricker, Rickie Fowler, Keegan Bradley, Erik Compton, Justin Thomas and Jamie Donaldson.

* * *


Bass Pro Shops Legends of Golf at Big Cedar Lodge
Dates: April 24-26
Venue: Buffalo Ridge (Springs Course); Top of the Rock, Ridgedale, Mo.

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):           
Friday              Noon-2:30 p.m. (Live) / 1-3 a.m. (Saturday replay)
Saturday         3-6 p.m. (Live) / 3:30-6 a.m. (Sunday replay)
Sunday            3-6 p.m. (Live) / 3:30-6 a.m. (Monday replay)

Broadcast Notes

Tournament format: Two-man teams will compete in two divisions: the Champions division (54-hole tournament) and the Legends Division (45-hole tournament for players age 65+). Teams will compete in a better-ball format at Buffalo Ridge and will play nine holes each of alternate shot and better-ball at Top of the Rock. Each division will play one round on each course over the first two days, and the final round will be played at Top of the Rock.

Nicklaus, Player team up in the Legends division: World Golf Hall-of-Famers Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player will team up in the Legends division. Over the course of their respective careers, the pair combined to win 29 Champions Tour titles.

Funk, Sluman defend: Fred Funk and Jeff Sluman finished one shot ahead of Jay Haas and Peter Jacobsen last year.

Champions Division teams: Andy North/Tom Watson, Jeff Sluman/Tom Lehman, Peter Jacobsen/D.A. Weibring, Brad Bryant/Bart Bryant, John Cook/Joey Sindelar, Ben Crenshaw/Jerry Pate, Fred Funk/Eduardo Romero, Sandy Lyle/Ian Woosnam, Lee Janzen/Rocco Mediate, Corey Pavin/Duffy Waldorf, Olin Browne/Steve Pate.

Legends Division teams: Jack Nicklaus/Gary Player, David Graham/Tony Jacklin, Chi Chi Rodriguez/Bob Murphy, Mike Hill/Lee Trevino.

* * *


Volvo China Open
Dates: April 22-26
Venue: Tomson Shanghai Pudong Golf Club, Shanghai, China

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):           
Wednesday     10:30 p.m.-12:30 a.m. (Live)
Thursday         2:30 a.m.-5:30 a.m. (Live) / 9 a.m.-2 p.m. (Replay)
Friday              12:30-2:30 a.m. (Tape delay) / 2:30-5:30 a.m. (Live) / 9 a.m.-Noon (Replay)
Saturday         6-10 a.m. (Tape delay)
Sunday            6-10 a.m. (Tape delay)

Broadcast Notes

Levy defends: Alexander Levy won by four shots over Tommy Fleetwood for his first career European Tour win.

Headlining the field: Peter Uihlein, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Mikko Ilonen, Tommy Fleetwood, Alexander Levy, Ross Fisher, Alex Noren, Gary Stal, Matteo Manassero and Oliver Wilson.

No comments: