Wednesday, August 19

Ernie Els to Receive 2015 Payne Stewart Award

Ernie Els at the 2009 British Open. (scotchollie)
THE PGA TOUR AND SOUTHERN COMPANY today announced that four-time major champion Ernie Els will be the recipient of the 2015 Payne Stewart Award. The annual award is given to a professional golfer who exemplifies Stewart's values of character, charity and sportsmanship. Stewart died tragically in a plane accident during the week of the 1999 Tour Championship.

Els will receive the award on Tuesday, September 22, at the Tour Championship in Atlanta, Georgia. The ceremony will air on Golf Channel during its 7-8 p.m. programming.

"I have so many fond memories of Payne and always had the greatest respect for him as a golfer and as a person," Els said in a statement, "and I think this award is a wonderful way to honor his memory and the values that he stood for.

"To be considered worthy of receiving such an award makes me feel proud and very humble. It really means a lot. Of course, the work that we do is a massive team effort, and I thank my wife Liezl and everyone at the foundations for their work and commitment, as well as all the individuals and corporations that support us in helping improve the lives of kids, young adults and families who need and deserve our help.

"Thank you also to everyone at the PGA Tour and to Southern Company for the incredibly generous donation that will help us in our ongoing mission to support causes close to our hearts."

Nicknamed "The Big Easy," Els owns 70 worldwide titles and was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2011.

Other Recipients

Els joins 17 other recipients of the Payne Stewart Award: Sir Nick Faldo (2014), Peter Jacobsen (2013), Steve Stricker (2012), David Toms (2011), Tom Lehman (2010), Kenny Perry (2009), Davis Love III (2008), Hal Sutton (2007), Gary Player (2006), Brad Faxon (2005), Jay Haas (2004), Tom Watson (2003), Nick Price (2002), Ben Crenshaw (2001), Byron Nelson, Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer (2000).

No comments: