Tuesday, September 22

VIDEO: Juli Inkster Discusses Meeting With Suzann Pettersen



GOLFCHANNEL.COM REPORTED: "U.S. team captain Juli Inkster says she had a 'good talk' with Suzann Pettersen and both are ready to move on regarding the putt concession controversy at the 2015 Solheim Cup."

This is good news.

After the catastrophic fallout, European Solheim Cup player Suzann Pettersen has handled the situation admirably. Hopefully, all parties can move on with minimum scarring.

There was an unfortunate sequence of events that contributed to the incident. For obvious reasons, Pettersen took the brunt of criticism. It was swift and massive. But America's Alison Lee made a serious mistake when, thinking her short putt was conceded, she scooped up her golf ball. And so began the chain reaction.

If you'd like to learn more about this somewhat odd golf custom, in May the USGA published the article, "That's Good: A History of Conceding Putts."

The USGA's Michael Trostel and Victoria Student wrote:
The phrase itself, "concede putts," was first mentioned in the Rules of Golf in 1909. Interestingly, the USGA was strongly against it. The section Special Rules for Match Play Competitions reads, "The Rules of Golf Committee recommends that players should not concede putts to their opponents." This was mentioned in each subsequent Rules book until 1933.
There's a lot more interesting background in the article on how the concession became a part of matchplay competition.

(H/T Geoff Shackelford)

No comments: