Thursday, January 5

Golf on TV: SBS Tournament of Champions

From a Golf Channel press release.

ORLANDO, Fla. (Jan. 3, 2017) – The PGA TOUR will stage its first event of the 2017 calendar year this week at the SBS Tournament of Champions in Hawaii. Jason Day, Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth and Hideki Matsuyama headline the winners-only event, which features a field of 32 players having earned a victory during the 2015-16 PGA TOUR season. Golf Channel will air early-round coverage on Thursday-Friday, Jan. 5-6, while NBC will provide weekend coverage on Saturday-Sunday, Jan. 7-8, leading into Golf Channel’s third and final round coverage in primetime. 


SBS Tournament of Champions
Dates: Jan. 5-8
Venue: Kapalua Resort (Plantation Course), Kapalua, Hawaii

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         6-10 p.m. (Live) / 11 p.m.-3 a.m. (Replay)
Friday              6-10 p.m. (Live) / 11 p.m.-3 a.m. (Replay)
Saturday          6-8 p.m. (Live) / 9 p.m.-1 a.m. (Replay)
Sunday            5-7 p.m. (Live) / 8 p.m.-Midnight (Replay)

Tournament Airtimes on NBC (Eastern):
Saturday          4-6 p.m.
Sunday            3-5 p.m.

Broadcast Notes:
World No. 1 Day making first start since TOUR Championship: World No. 1 Jason Day will return to competition this week for the first time since the TOUR Championship in September. The winners-only field of 32 players features four of the top-six players in the World in Day, Johnson (No. 3), Jordan Spieth (No. 5) and Hideki Matsuyama (No. 6).
Golf Central on-site at Kapalua: Golf Channel’s daily evening news program – Golf Central­ – will originate from an on-site location at Kapalua Resort, Thursday-Sunday for pre-and post-round wraparound coverage surrounding each day of competition. Ryan Burr will serve as host, while Notah Begay and Brandel Chamblee will offer analysis, and Todd Lewis will provide updates and conduct player interviews.
Spieth defends: Jordan Spieth finished eight shots clear of the field (30-under) to claim his seventh PGA TOUR victory.
Headlining the Field: Jason Day, Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Hideki Matsuyama, Patrick Reed, Bubba Watson, Jimmy Walker, Brandt Snedeker, Branden Grace and Russell Knox.

No comments: