Thursday, March 2

Golf on TV: WGC-Mexico Championship, HSBC Women's Champions, Tshwane Open

From a Golf Channel press release.

ORLANDO, Fla. (Feb. 28, 2017) – Forty-nine of the top-50 in the world make up a stellar field at the WGC-Mexico Championship, with more than 20 hours of live tournament coverage airing across Golf Channel and NBC. The event shifts to a new venue in 2017, with the Chapultepec Golf Club in Mexico City staging the event for the first time, at an altitude of more than 7,600 feet above sea level. The LPGA Tour is in Singapore for the HSBC Women’s Champions, featuring a similarly impressive field that includes 19 of the top-20 in the world. The European Tour continues with the South African stretch of its schedule at the Tshwane Open, with Darren Clarke and Trevor Immelman both in the field.


WGC-Mexico Championship
Dates: March 2-5
Venue: Chapultepec Golf Club, Mexico City, Mexico

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         2-7 p.m. (Live) / 8 p.m.-Midnight (Replay)
Friday              2-7 p.m. (Live) / 8 p.m.-Midnight (Replay)
Saturday          Noon-3 p.m. (Live) / 7-10:30 p.m. (Replay)
Sunday            Noon-2 p.m. (Live) / 7 p.m.-Midnight (Replay)

Tournament Airtimes on NBC (Eastern):
Saturday          3-6 p.m. (Live)
Sunday            2-6 p.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes:
Elite field featuring 49 of top-50 in the world: 77 players are in the field at the WGC-Mexico Championship, including 49 of the top-50 in the world, and nine of the 12 winners on the PGA TOUR this season. The 72-hole, stroke play event features no cut.
New venue: This year marks the first time the event will be staged in Mexico City, after previously being played in Miami. Chapultepec Golf Cub previously hosted the Mexico Open 18 times and is played at an altitude of more than 7,600 feet above sea level.
Scott defends: Adam Scott finished one shot ahead of Bubba Watson at Trump National Doral to claim his 13th PGA TOUR win.
Headlining the field: Dustin Johnson, Rory McIlroy, Hideki Matsuyama, Henrik Stenson, Jordan Spieth, Adam Scott, Justin Thomas, Rickie Fowler, Sergio Garcia and Alex Noren.

* * *


HSBC Women’s Champions
Dates: March 2-5
Venue: Sentosa Golf Club (New Tanjong Course), Sentosa Island, Singapore

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Wednesday     10:30 p.m.-2:30 a.m. (Live) / 2:30-5:30 a.m. (Thursday replay)
Friday              Midnight-2:30 a.m. (Live)
Saturday          Midnight-2:30 a.m. (Live) / 3-6 p.m. (Replay) 10:30 p.m.-2:30 a.m. (Live) / 2-6 p.m. (Sunday replay)

Broadcast Notes:
New course: After being contested on the Serapong Course at Sentosa Golf Club for the previous four years, the venue shifts to the New Tanjong Course, which also is scheduled to host the 2018 Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship.
Jang defends: Ha Na Jang finished four shots ahead of Pornanong Phatlum to claim her second LPGA Tour victory.
Headlining the field: Lydia Ko, Ariya Jutanugarn, Shanshan Feng, In Gee Chun, Ha Na Jang, Lexi Thompson, So Yeon Ryu, Sei Young Kim, Brooke Henderson and Sung Hyun Park.

* * *


Tshwane Open
Dates: March 2-5
Venue: Pretoria Country Club, Waterkloof, South Africa

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         5:30-7:30 a.m. (Tape delay) / 7:30-10:30 a.m. (Live)
Friday              5:30-7:30 a.m. (Tape delay) / 7:30-10:30 a.m. (Live)
Saturday          5-9:30 a.m. (Live)
Sunday            5-9:30 a.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes:
Headlining the field: Darren Clarke, Darren Fichardt, Justin Hicks, Trevor Immelman, Haotong Li, Graeme Storm, Peter Uihlein and Jaco Van Zyl.

No comments: