Thursday, August 24

Golf on TV: The Northern Trust, Canadian Pacific Women's Open, Boeing Classic, Made in Denmark

From a Golf Channel press release.

ORLANDO, Fla. (August 23, 2017) –The FedExCup Playoffs kick off this week as the top-125 from the season-long points race advance to take part in The Northern Trust. Players will tee it up at Glen Oaks Club, a new venue for the event, where they’ll look to play their way into the top-100 in the standings to earn a spot in next week’s Dell Technologies Championship. Hideki Matsuyama tops the standings thanks to three wins and three runner-up finishes this season. The LPGA Tour heads north of the border for the Canadian Pacific Women’s Open, where world No. 3 Ariya Jutanugarn looks to find her form as she defends her 2016 title. The PGA TOUR Champions are in Washington for the Boeing Classic, while two-time major champions Martin Kaymer and John Daly are in the field at the Made in Denmark on the European Tour.

The Northern Trust
Dates: August 24-27
Venue: Glen Oaks Club, Old Westbury, N.Y.

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday:        2-6 p.m. (Live) / 9:30 p.m.-1:30 a.m. (Replay)
Friday:             2-6 p.m. (Live) / 10:30 p.m.-2:30 a.m. (Replay)
Saturday:         1-2:30 p.m. (Live) / 11 p.m.-3:30 a.m. (Replay)
Sunday:           Noon-1:30 p.m. (Live) / 11 p.m.-3 a.m. (Replay)

Tournament Airtimes on CBS (Eastern):
Saturday:         3-6 p.m.
Sunday:           3-6 p.m.

Broadcast Notes:
Featured pairings: FedExCup points leaders Hideki Matsuyama (1), Justin Thomas (2) and Jordan Spieth (3) will tee it up together in the first two rounds of The Northern Trust. The next three in the standings – Dustin Johnson (4), Rickie Fowler (5) and Jon Rahm (6) – also will be paired together on Thursday and Friday.
Reed defends: Patrick Reed won by one shot over Sean O’Hair and Emiliano Grillo.
Five players out of event: The field will feature 120 players, with two players choosing not to compete (No. 22 Sergio Garcia and No. 66 Adam Scott) and three players out due to injury (No. 64 Brandt Snedeker, No. 85 Scott Piercy and No. 115 Dominic Bozzelli).
Headlining the field: Dustin Johnson, Hideki Matsuyama, Rory McIlroy, Jason Day, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Rickie Fowler, Henrik Stenson, Brooks Koepka, Phil Mickelson, Jon Rahm and Patrick Reed.

Canadian Pacific Women’s Open
Dates: August 24-27
Venue: Ottawa Golf & Hunt Club, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. (Live)
Friday              10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. (Live) / 4:30-6 a.m. (Saturday replay)
Saturday          3-6 p.m. (Live)
Sunday            3-6 p.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes:
Jutanugarn defends: Ariya Jutanugarn won just a week after claiming her first major at the Ricoh Women’s British Open.
Headlining the field: So Yeon Ryu, Lydia Ko, Brooke Henderson, Michelle Wie, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis, Brittany Lincicome, Danielle Kang, Christina Kim and Paula Creamer.

Boeing Classic
Dates: August 25-27
Venue: TPC Snoqualmie Ridge, Snoqualmie, Wash.

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Friday              6-8 p.m. (Live) / 2:30-4:30 a.m. (Replay)
Saturday          6-8 p.m. (Live) / 3:30-5:30 a.m. (Replay)
Sunday            6-8 p.m. (Live) / 3-5 a.m. (Replay)

Broadcast Notes:
Langer defends: Charles Schwab Cup money list leader Bernhard Langer won in a three-man playoff in 2016 over Woody Austin and Kevin Sutherland.
Headlining the field: Bernhard Langer, Fred Couples, Paul Goydos, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Jerry Kelly, David Toms and Scott McCarron.

Made in Denmark
Dates: August 24-27
Venue: Himmerland Golf & Spa Resort, Farsø, Denmark

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         5:30-7:30 a.m. (Live) / 9:30-10:30 a.m. (Live)
Friday              5:30-7:30 a.m. (Live) / 9:30-10:30 a.m. (Live)
Saturday          6:30-11 a.m. (Live)
Sunday            6:30-11 a.m. (Live)

Broadcast Notes:
Pieters defends: Thomas Pieters won by one shot over Bradley Dredge.
Headlining the field: Martin Kaymer, Thomas Pieters,Thorbjørn Olesen, Sam Horsfield, John Daly and Andrew Johnston.

No comments: