Wednesday, August 8

2018 PGA Championship Notes and TV Schedule

THE 100TH PGA CHAMPIONSHIP BEGINS on Thursday at Bellerive Country Club in St. Louis, Missouri. This will be the final PGA Championship played in August. Next year the PGA will follow the Masters in the majors lineup, teeing off at Bethpage Black in Farmingdale, New York, on May 16, 2019.

Designed by famed course architect Robert Trent Jones Sr., Bellerive hosted the 1992 PGA Championship won by Nick Price and has also been the scene of other majors such as the 1965 U.S. Open won by Gary Player.

The last time the PGA Tour visited Bellerive was in 2008 for the BMW Championship and the start of the FedEx Cup Playoffs.

The Favorites
Here they are according to bookmaker Bovada.

8/1: Dustin Johnson
12/1: Rory McIlroy
14/1: Justin Thomas
20/1: Jason Day, Brooks Koepka, Jordan Spieth
22/1: Rickie Fowler, Justin Rose
25/1: Jon Rahm
28/1: Tommy Fleetwood, Tiger Woods
33/1: Francesco Molinari
40/1: Tony Finau, Patrick Reed
50/1: Patrick Cantlay, Henrik Stenson, Bubba Watson
55/1: Paul Casey, Alex Noren
60/1: Xander Schauffele
66/1: Marc Leishman, Hideki Matsuyama, Joaquin Niemann
75/1: Thorbjorn Olesen, Webb Simpson
80/1: Bryson DeChambeau, Matt Kuchar, Louis Oosthuizen, Kyle Stanley                             
100/1: Daniel Berger, Keegan Bradley, Sergio Garcia, Branden Grace, Brian Harman, Charley Hoffman, Zach Johnson, Kevin Kisner, Phil Mickelson, Ian Poulter, Gary Woodland

Notable Groupings
Following are noteworthy groupings for Thursday and Friday, including Thursday tee times. (All times Eastern.)

No. 1
8:56 a.m.: Padraig Harrington, Jimmy Walker, Vijay Singh
9:07 a.m.: Bryson DeChambeau, Andy Sullivan, Kiradech Aphibarnrat
1:42 p.m.: Chris Wood, Alex Noren, Matt Kuchar
1:53 p.m.: Dustin Johnson, Bubba Watson, Adam Scott
2:04 p.m.: Tommy Fleetwood, Satoshi Kodaira, Marc Leishman
2:15 p.m.: Patrick Reed, Brooks Koepka, Francesco Molinari
2:26 p.m.: Gary Woodland, Sergio Garcia, Kevin Kisner
2:37 p.m.: Jordan Spieth, Jon Rahm, Justin Rose
2:48 p.m.: Aaron Wise, Paul Casey, Zach Johnson
2:59 p.m.: Louis Oosthuizen, Thomas Pieters, Bill Haas
3:10 p.m.: Lee Westwood, Joaquin Niemann, Daniel Berger

No. 10
8:17 a.m.: Jim Furyk, Tony Finau, Xander Schauffele
8:39 a.m.: Rickie Fowler, Hideki Matsuyama, Ian Poulter
8:50 a.m.: Henrik Stenson, Danny Willett, Pat Perez
9:01 a.m.: Phil Mickelson, Jason Day, Keegan Bradley
9:23 a.m.: Justin Thomas, Rory McIlroy, Tiger Woods
2:32 p.m.: Thorbjorn Olesen, Charl Schwartzel, Patrick Cantlay

100th PGA Championship Details
Dates: August 9-12
Course: Bellerive Country Club
Par: 70
Yardage: 7316 yards
Purse: $10.5 million
Winner’s share: $1.89 million
Field: 156 players
Defending champion: Justin Thomas

TV Schedule
All times Eastern.
Thursday, August 9: TNT 2 p.m.-8 p.m.
Friday, August 10: TNT 2 p.m.-8 p.m.
Saturday, August 11: TNT 11 a.m.-2 p.m.; CBS 2 p.m.-7 p.m.
Sunday, August 12: TNT 11 a.m.-2 p.m.; CBS 2 p.m.-7 p.m.

Live Streaming Coverage
Live streaming coverage is available at or on the PGA app.

No comments: