Wednesday, May 22

USGA: 26 Additional Players Exempt for 119th U.S. Open Championship


LIBERTY CORNER, N.J. – The United States Golf Association (USGA) announced that 26 additional golfers, including 2003 U.S. Open champion Jim Furyk and U.S. Amateur champions Matthew Fitzpatrick and Byeong Hun An, have earned full exemptions into the 2019 U.S. Open Championship, to be played June 13-16 at Pebble Beach (Calif.) Golf Links. These exemptions bring the number of fully exempt players to 76.

All 26 exemptions were awarded to players who earned a place in the top 60 of the Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR) as of May 19. Furyk, who won the U.S. Open at Olympia Fields (Ill.) Country Club and is a three-time runner-up (2006, 2007, 2016), is ranked No. 51. It will be Furyk’s 25th U.S. Open. Fitzpatrick, who is competing in his fifth U.S. Open, won the 2013 U.S. Amateur and is ranked No. 33. An, who claimed the 2009 U.S. Amateur, is ranked No. 57 and will play in his sixth U.S. Open.

The other players who earned full exemptions through the current Official World Golf Ranking are: Abraham Ancer, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Lucas Bjerregaard, Rafael Cabrera Bello, Branden Grace, Justin Harding, J.B. Holmes, Charles Howell III, Kevin Kisner, Haotong Li, Luke List, Shane Lowry, Keith Mitchell, Alex Noren, Thorbjorn Olesen, Louis Oosthuizen, Cheng Tsung Pan, Eddie Pepperell, Ian Poulter, Chez Reavie, Adam Scott, Brandt Snedeker and Matt Wallace. Reavie (2001) and Snedeker (2003) are past U.S. Amateur Public Links champions.

Embed from Getty Images

No comments: