Tuesday, October 18

Major Champions Battle in Bermuda

By PGA of America

Darren Clarke at Carnoustie in 2007.
MASTERS CHAMPION CHARL SCHWARTZEL, U.S. Open champion Rory McIlroy, Open champion Darren Clarke and PGA champion Keegan Bradley will form the year’s elite foursome in the 29th PGA Grand Slam of Golf, beginning today at Port Royal Golf Course in Bermuda. The season-ending showcase event, which boasts the most difficult qualification requirement in the game—a major championship victory—will be televised by TNT. Coverage is today at 4 p.m. – 7 p.m. ET/PT and on Wednesday from 4 p.m. – 8 p.m. ET/PT.

Port Royal Golf Course joins the Fairmont Southampton as the official hotel site for the PGA Grand Slam of Golf in Bermuda. The 6,845-yard, par-71 Port Royal is a public course that opened for play in 1970.

The PGA Grand Slam of Golf has a $1.35 million purse, with the winner receiving $600,000, second place $300,000, third place $250,000 and fourth place $200,000. TNT’s prime-time broadcast of the event reaches a worldwide audience of nearly 100 million U.S. homes and international viewers in more than 100 countries.

Hosted by the Bermuda Department of Tourism, Port Royal Golf Course, and the Fairmont Southampton Hotel, the PGA Grand Slam of Golf was established in 1979 and has grown from an 18-hole, single-day event to a 36-hole annual showdown that matches professional golf’s best against each other. Ernie Els captured the 2010 PGA Grand Slam of Golf title at Port Royal.

Past PGA Grand Slam of Golf Champions include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Jim Furyk, Els, Tom Lehman, Ben Crenshaw, Greg Norman and Nick Price.

(Photo credit: photojenni, Flickr, Creative Commons license)

No comments: