Thursday, February 13

Golf on TV: Northern Trust Open, Africa Open, ISPS Handa Women's Australian Open, Ace Group Classic

By Golf Channel News

The following tournament lineup, TV schedule and other information were supplied by Golf Channel in a news release.

(PGA Tour)
Dates: February 13-16
Venue: Riviera Country Club, Pacific Palisades, Calif.

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday 5-8 p.m. (Live) / 8:30-11:30 p.m. (Replay)
Friday 5-8 p.m. (Live) / 8:30-11:30 p.m. (Replay)
Saturday 1-2:30 p.m. (Live) / 9:30 p.m.-2 a.m. (Replay)
Sunday 1-2:30 p.m. (Live) / 8 p.m.-1 a.m. (Replay)

CBS TV Coverage (Eastern):
Saturday 3-6 p.m.
Sunday 3-6:30 p.m.

Event Notes

Merrick Defends: John Merrick outlasted Charlie Beljan on the second playoff hole in last year’s tournament, becoming the first-ever player from Los Angeles County to win the event.

Headlining the Field: Dustin Johnson, Justin Rose, Keegan Bradley, Jason Dufner, Hunter Mahan, Charl Schwartzel, Jordan Spieth, Matt Kuchar, Louis Oosthuizen and Fred Couples.

* * *

(European Tour)
Dates: February 13-16
Venue: East London Golf Club, East London, South Africa

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday 9 a.m.-1 p.m. (Tape Delay)
Friday 9 a.m.-12 p.m. (Tape Delay)
Saturday 5:30-9:30 a.m. (Live)
Sunday 5:30-9:30 a.m. (Live)

Event Notes

Home Field Advantage: No player born outside of South Africa has won the Africa Open, dating back to 2010 when the tournament became an official European Tour event.

Fichardt Defends: Darren Fichardt won last year’s event by two shots over Gregory Bourdy and Jaco Van Zyl, giving the South African his first European Tour victory in his home country, and his fourth overall.

Headlining the Field: Robert Rock, Thomas Aiken, Peter Hedblom, Darren Fichardt, Soren Hansen, Simon Dyson, Shiv Kapur, Michael Hoey, Gregory Bourdy, Oliver Fisher and David Horsey.

* * *

(LPGA Tour)
Dates: February 13-16
Venue: The Victoria Golf Club, Victoria, Australia

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):
Wednesday 11 p.m.-2 a.m. (Live) / 1-4 p.m. (Thursday replay)
Friday Noon-2:30 p.m. (Tape Delay)
Saturday 5-9 p.m. (Tape Delay)
Sunday 5-7 p.m. (Tape Delay)

Event Notes

Shin Electing Not to Defend: Jiyai Shin earned her 11th career LPGA victory at last year’s event, winning by two shots over Yani Tseng. However, she is not in the field this week, having resigned her membership on the LPGA Tour last month with plans to focus instead on playing in Asia.

Headlining the Field: Lydia Ko, Suzann Pettersen, Lexi Thompson, Jessica Korda, Paula Creamer, Morgan Pressel, Beatriz Recari, Azahara Munoz, Cheyenne Woods and Karrie Webb.

* * *

(Champions Tour)
Dates: February 14-16
Venue: The Talon Course, Twin Eagles Golf Club, Naples, Fla.

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):
Friday 2:30-4:30 p.m. (Live) / Midnight-2 a.m. (Replay)
Saturday 3-5 p.m. (Live) / 2:30-4:30 a.m. (Replay)
Sunday 3-5 p.m. (Live) / 2-4 a.m. (Replay)

Events Notes

Langer Defends: Bernhard Langer won last year’s event for the second time in three years with a one-shot victory over Jay Don Blake.

Headlining the Field: Tom Lehman, Tom Watson, Bernhard Langer, Colin Montgomerie, Nick Price, Kenny Perry, Mark Calcavecchia, Fred Funk, Jay Haas, John Cook and David Frost.

No comments: