Thursday, October 9

Golf on TV: Open, SAS Championship, Sime Darby LPGA Malaysia, Portugal Masters

The following edited content was supplied by Golf Channel in a news release.

The 2014-15 PGA TOUR season gets under way this week with the Open. Jimmy Walker defends his 2013 title, the first of three victories on the PGA TOUR last season.

The Champions Tour stages the first of two consecutive events in the state of North Carolina with the SAS Championship. Charles Schwab Cup leader Bernhard Langer headlines the field with only three events remaining for players to position themselves in the top-30 point standings to be eligible to compete in the Charles Schwab Cup Championship.

Lexi Thompson defends her 2013 title at the Sime Darby LPGA Malaysia, while David Lynn defends at the European Tour’s Portugal Masters.

Walker defends: Jimmy Walker won by two shots over Vijay Singh for the first of three PGA TOUR victories that he accumulated in the early stages of the 2013-14 PGA TOUR season.

Dates: Oct. 9-12
Venue: Silverado Resort and Spa, Napa, Calif.

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday 5-8 p.m. (Live) / 8:30-11:30 p.m. (Replay)
Friday 5-8 p.m. (Live) / 8:30-11:30 p.m. (Replay)
Saturday 5-8 p.m. (Live) / 8:30-11:30 p.m. (Replay)
Sunday 5-8 p.m. (Live) / 8:30-11:30 p.m. (Replay)

Event Notes

New season begins: The 2014-15 PGA TOUR season kicks off this week from Napa, Calif. with the Open. This week marks the first of 47 official events during the 2014-15 season schedule, with seven of those being played during the 2014 calendar year.

Miller in the spotlight: Golf Channel on NBC analyst Johnny Miller is part-owner of the tournament’s host venue, Silverado Resort and Spa in Napa, Calif. Miller was chosen as the 2014 Open tournament honoree, and in addition his son Andy received a sponsor’s exemption to be in the field this week.

Headlining the field: Jimmy Walker, Matt Kuchar, Hunter Mahan, Lee Westwood, Hideki Matsuyama, Chesson Hadley, Jonas Blixt, Vijay Singh, Davis Love III and Jarrod Lyle.

* * *
(Champions Tour)
Dates: Oct. 10-12
Venue: Prestonwood Country Club, Cary, N.C.

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern)
Friday 2:30-5 p.m. (Live) / 3-5 a.m. (Saturday replay)
Saturday 2:30-5 p.m. (Live) / 3-5 a.m. (Sunday replay)
Sunday 2:30-5 p.m. (Live) / Midnight-2:30 a.m. (Monday replay)

Event Notes

Cochran defends: Russ Cochran edged out David Frost by one stroke for his fifth career Champions Tour win, and second of the 2013 season.

Headlining the field: Bernhard Langer, Colin Montgomerie, Nick Faldo, Kenny Perry, Rocco Mediate, Corey Pavin, Peter Jacobsen, Gary Koch, Lee Janzen, John Cook and Russ Cochran.

* * *

(LPGA Tour)
Dates: Oct. 9-12
Venue: Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club (West Course), Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):
Wednesday 11 p.m.-3 a.m. (Live) / 1-3 p.m. (Thursday replay)
Thursday 11:30 p.m.-3 a.m. (Live)  
Friday 11:30 p.m.-3 a.m. (Live) / 5-8 a.m. (Saturday replay)
Saturday 11:30 p.m.-3 a.m. (Live) / 5-8:30 a.m. (Sunday replay)

Event Notes

International swing continues: The Sime Darby LPGA Malaysia is the second of seven consecutive LPGA Tour events to be played outside of the United States, and the 75-player field features no cut.

Thompson defends: Lexi Thompson finished four shots ahead of Shanshan Feng in 2013 for her second-career LPGA Tour victory at the time. Her final-round 69 contributed to Thompson setting the new tournament 72-hole scoring record.

Headlining the field: Stacy Lewis, Suzann Pettersen, Lexi Thompson, Karrie Webb, Na Yeon Choi, Shanshan Feng, Anna Nordqvist, So Yeon Ryu, Lydia Ko, Jessica Korda and Gerina Piller.

* * *

(European Tour)
Dates: Oct. 9-12
Venue: Oceanico Victoria Golf Course, Vilamoura, Portugal

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday 6:30-8:30 a.m. / 10 a.m.-1 p.m. (Live)
Friday 6:30-8:30 a.m. / 10 a.m.-1 p.m. (Live)
Saturday 8 a.m.-Noon (Live)
Sunday 8:30 a.m.-1 p.m. (Live)

Event Notes

Lynn defends: David Lynn finished one shot ahead of Justin Walters to earn his second-career European Tour victory, and his first since the 2004 KLM Open.

Headlining the field: Darren Clarke, Padraig Harrington, Matteo Manassero, Paul McGinley, Francesco Molinari, Jose Maria Olazabal, Peter Uihlein, Tommy Fleetwood and David Lynn.

No comments: