Thursday, January 15

Golf on TV: Sony Open in Hawaii and Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship

The following edited content was supplied by Golf Channel in a news release.

NBC Sports Group continues its coverage of the PGA TOUR on the big island this week with the Sony Open in Hawaii. Golf Channel will air all four rounds in primetime – beginning Thursday – and NBC will carry early, final round coverage on Sunday from 4-6 p.m. ETThis week’s event is the first full tournament field on the PGA TOUR in 2015.

World No. 1 Rory McIlroy and No. 2 Henrik Stenson headline the field at the European Tour’s Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship, with McIlroy making his first start since November. Golf Channel will air early-morning coverage during all four rounds, beginning on Thursday.


Sony Open in Hawaii
Dates: Jan. 15-18
Venue: Waialae Country Club, Honolulu, Hawaii

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         7-10:30 p.m. (Live) / 11 p.m.-2:30 a.m. (Replay)
Friday              7-10:30 p.m. (Live) / 11 p.m.-2:30 a.m. (Replay)
Saturday          7-10:30 p.m. (Live) / 11 p.m.-2:30 a.m. (Replay)
Sunday            6-8 p.m. (Live) / 9 p.m.-1 a.m. (Replay)

Tournament Airtimes On NBC (Eastern):
Sunday            4-6 p.m. (Live)

Event Notes

50th anniversary of the event: This week will serve as the 50th edition of the event, with each being held at Waialae Country Club, just east of downtown Honolulu.

Walker defends: Jimmy Walker won by one stroke over Chris Kirk for his second victory of the 2013-14 PGA TOUR season.
Headlining the field: Jason Day, Jimmy Walker, Zach Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Hideki Matsuyama, Webb Simpson, Sang-Moon Bae, Luke Donald, Russell Henley and Chris Kirk.  

* * *


Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship
Dates: Jan. 15-18
Venue: Abu Dhabi Golf Club, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Tournament Airtimes On Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         12:30-3:30 a.m., 5-8 a.m. (Live) / Noon-5:30 p.m. (Replay)
Friday              5-8 a.m. (Live), (Beginning of second round on tape delay, 2:30-5 a.m.)
Saturday          4-8 a.m. (Live) / 1:30-3 p.m. (Replay)
Sunday            3:30-8 a.m. (Live) / 10 a.m-Noon (Replay)

Event Notes

Larrazabal defends: Pablo Larrazabal edged Rory McIlroy and Phil Mickelson by one shot to earn his third career European Tour win.
Headlining the field: Rory McIlroy, Henrik Stenson, Justin Rose, Rickie Fowler, Martin Kaymer, Victor Dubuisson, Jamie Donaldson, Ernie Els, Charl Schwartzel and Darren Clarke.

No comments: