Thursday, January 21

Golf on TV: Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship, CareerBuilder Challenge, Mitsubishi Electric Championship

(The following edited content was supplied by Golf Channel in a news release.)


World No. 1 Jordan Spieth, No. 3 Rory McIlroy and No. 6 Rickie Fowler headline a world-class international field at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship in the United Arab Emirates on the European Tour. The three will be grouped together for the first two rounds of play.

Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship
Dates: Jan. 21-24
Venue: Abu Dhabi Golf Club, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         6-8 am (Live, First Round Afternoon Wave) / 10 am-2 p.m. Replay)           
Friday              2-8 a.m. (Live) / 10 a.m.-2 p.m. (Replay)
Saturday          4-8 a.m. (Live) / 10 a.m.-2p.m. (Replay)
Sunday            3:30-8 a.m. (Live) / 10 a.m.-2 p.m. (Replay)

Broadcast Notes

Stenson making 2016 debut:  In addition to Spieth, McIlroy and Fowler, World No. 5 Henrik Stenson also is scheduled to compete, making his 2016 debut in Abu Dhabi.

Stal defends: Gary Stal captured the 2015 title by one stroke over Rory McIlroy and two strokes over Martin Kaymer for his first career European Tour win.

Headlining the field: Jordan Spieth, Rory McIlroy, Henrik Stenson, Rickie Fowler, Darren Clarke, Bryson DeChambeau, Ernie Els, Branden Grace, Martin Kaymer and Gary Stal.

* * *


The PGA TOUR moves to the California desert this week for the CareerBuilder Challenge in partnership with the Clinton Foundation, with two-time winner Phil Mickelson making his 2016 debut and his first competitive start since the 2015 Presidents Cup.

CareerBuilder Challenge in Partnership with the Clinton Foundation
Dates: Jan. 21-24
Venue: PGA West (TPC Stadium and Nicklaus Tournament Course), La Quinta, Calif., La Quinta Country Club, La Quinta, Calif.

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         3-7 p.m. (Live) / 10:30 p.m.-2 a.m. (Replay) 
Friday              3-7 p.m. (Live) / 10:30 p.m.-2 a.m. (Replay)
Saturday          3-7 p.m. (Live) / 10:30 p.m.-2 a.m. (Replay)
Sunday            3-7 p.m. (Live) / 8 p.m.-Midnight (Replay)

Broadcast Notes

Hicks and Miller join broadcast team for weekend coverage: Golf Channel on NBC’s Dan Hicks and Johnny Miller will join the broadcast team for weekend coverage, marking the first time since 1998 – the final year NBC covered the Bob Hope Classic – that the duo will be calling action at this tournament.

Format: 156 professionals will play alongside amateur golfers over 72 holes (the event was previously played as a five-round, 90 hole event.)

TPC Stadium course returns to rotation: For the first time since 1987 and the second time in tournament history, the TPC Stadium Course at PGA West joins the rotation of courses. For the first three rounds, all three courses (TPC Stadium, Nicklaus Tournament and La Quinta CC) will be used, with TPC Stadium hosting the final round.

Haas defends: Bill Haas defeated five players by one stroke to earn his sixth career PGA TOUR win and his second at this event.

Headlining the field: Phil Mickelson, Zach Johnson, Patrick Reed,  Bill Haas, Zac Blair, Paul Casey, Luke Donald, Jason Dufner, Matt Kuchar, Ollie Schniederjans and Steve Stricker.

* * *


The Champions Tour kicks off its 2016 season in Hawaii with the Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai, with live coverage in primetime Thursday-Saturday.

Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai
Dates: Jan. 21-23
Venue: Hualalai Golf Course, Ka’upulehu-Kona, Hawaii

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         7-10 p.m. (Live)
Friday              7-10 p.m. (Live) / 2-4 a.m. (Saturday Replay)
Saturday          11:30 p.m.-2 a.m. (Live) / 2-3:30 am (Saturday Replay)

Broadcast Notes

Season-opening event: The Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai is the season-opening event for the 2016 PGA TOUR Champions season, the first of 26 events scheduled in the 2016 race for the Charles Schwab Cup.
Elite field: The 44-player field consists of players who qualify by having won a PGA TOUR Champions major in the last five seasons or an official PGA TOUR Champions event in the last two seasons. The field also includes 10 sponsor exemptions.

Jimenez defends: Miguel Angel Jimenez defeated Mark O’Meara by one stroke for his second career PGA TOUR Champions win in 2015.

Headlining the field: Bernhard Langer, Fred Couples, Davis Love III, Tom Watson, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Colin Montgomerie, Jay Haas, John Cook, Tom Lehman and Jeff Maggert.

No comments: