Thursday, May 5

Golf on TV: Wells Fargo Championship, Insperity Invitational, Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic, Trophee Hassan II

By Golf Channel Communications


World No. 3 Rory McIlroy will defend his title at the Wells Fargo Championship in Charlotte, with Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson and Adam Scott in the field as well. Jim Furyk also is scheduled to return to the PGA TOUR for the first time since last September after being sidelined with a wrist injury. 

Wells Fargo Championship
Dates: May 5-8
Venue: Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, N.C.

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         4-7 p.m. (Live) / 8-11 p.m. (Replay)
Friday              4-7 p.m. (Live) / 10:30 p.m.-1:30 a.m. (Replay)
Saturday          1-2:30 p.m. (Live) / 8 p.m.-12:30 a.m. (Replay)
Sunday            1-2:30 p.m. (Live) / 8 p.m.-12:30 a.m. (Replay)

Tournament Airtimes on CBS (Eastern):
Saturday 3-6 p.m.
Sunday 3-6 p.m.
McIlroy defends: In last year’s event, Rory McIlroy separated himself from the field to win by seven strokes for his 11th career PGA TOUR win.

Headlining the field: Rory McIlroy, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Adam Scott, Branden Grace, Justin Rose, Patrick Reed, Hideki Matsuyama, Phil Mickelson and Henrik Stenson.

* * *


Two-time major champion John Daly will make his PGA TOUR Champions debut at the Insperity Invitational, after celebrating his 50th birthday last week.

Insperity Invitational
Dates: May 6-8                                                                      
Venue: The Woodlands Country Club (Tournament Course), The Woodlands, Texas

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Friday              7-10 p.m. (Tape delay) / 3:15-6:15 p.m. (Streaming on Golf Live Extra)
Saturday          5-7 p.m. (Live) / 1:30-3:30 a.m. (Sunday replay)
Sunday            5-7 p.m. (Live) / 1:30-3:30 a.m. (Monday replay)

Woosnam defends: Ian Woosnam defeated Tom Lehman and Kenny Perry with a birdie on the first playoff hole for his first PGA TOUR Champions win.

Headlining the field: John Daly, Bernhard Langer, Colin Montgomerie, Tom Lehman, Jeff Maggert, Woody Austin, Mark O’Meara, Fuzzy Zoeller, Peter Jacobsen and John Cook.

* * *


Stacy Lewis headlines the field at the Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic in Alabama, along with Brooke Henderson and Gerina Piller. 

Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic
Dates: May 5-8                                                                           
Venue: RTJ Golf Trail at Capitol Hill (Senator Course), Prattville, Ala.

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         12:30-3:30 p.m. (Live) / 2-4 a.m. (Friday replay)
Friday              12:30-3:30 p.m. (Live) / 4:30-6 a.m. (Saturday replay)
Saturday          3-5 p.m. (Live) / 3:30-5:30 a.m. (Sunday replay)
Sunday            3-5 p.m. (Live) / 3:30-5:30 a.m. (Monday replay)

Tamulis defends: Kris Tamulis finished one shot ahead of Yani Tseng and Austin Ernst for her first LPGA Tour win.

Headlining the field: Stacy Lewis, Brooke Henderson, Amy Yang, So Yeon Ryu, Minjee Lee, Gerina Piller, Anna Nordqvist, Brittany Lincicome, Jessica Korda, Charley Hull and Michelle Wie.

* * *


Trophee Hassan II
Dates: May 5-8                                                                           
Venue: Royal Golf Dar Es Salam (Red Course), Rabat, Morocco    

Tournament Airtimes on Golf Channel (Eastern):
Thursday         6:30-8:30 a.m. / 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (Live)
Friday              6:30-8:30 a.m. / 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (Live)
Saturday          10:30 a.m.-1 p.m. (Live)
Sunday            9:30 a.m.-1 p.m. (Live)

Event returning to familiar venue: After being played for five years at the Royal Palace at Agadir in 2011-2015, the Trophee Hassan II returns to its longtime home at Royal Golf Dar Es Salam in Rabat for the first time since 2010.

Headlining the field: Tommy Fleetwood, Alexander Levy, Paul Dunne, Matteo Manassero, Alvaro Quiros, David Horsey, Arjun Atwal, Dean Burmester and Javier Ballesteros.

No comments: