Wednesday, July 6

2016 U.S. Women's Open Fact Sheet and TV Schedule

The 2016 U.S. Women's Open starts on Thursday at CordeValle in San Martin, California. From USGA Communications, following is much of the need-to-know information about the championship.

A variety of ticket options are available for purchase at

CordeValle will be set up at 6,784 yards and will play to a par of 36-36—72. Based on the course setup, the USGA Course Rating™ is 70.2. Its Slope Rating is 150®. NOTE: yardages subject to change. 

Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Total
Par 4 4 5 3 4 4 4 3 5 36
Yards 396 426 523 210 352 371 410 183 561 3,432
Hole 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Total
Par 4 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 5 36
Yards 407 360 191 382 429 471 166 418 528 3,352

The name CordeValle is derived from the Spanish phrase "el corazón del valle," or "heart of the valley." Designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr. and opened in 1999, CordeValle is located in the foothills of the Santa Cruz Mountains. The course sits on 270 gently rolling acres and incorporates natural elevation changes, streams and wooded areas into the layout.

The championship is open to any female professional and any female amateur golfer with a Handicap Index® not exceeding 2.4. The deadline for entries was May 4.

The USGA accepted 1,855 entries for the 71st U.S. Women's Open Championship. This marks the second consecutive year the U.S. Women's Open has received more than 1,800 entries. The 2015 championship at Lancaster (Pa.) Country Club holds the entry record with 1,873. 

The starting field of 156 golfers will be cut after 36 holes to the low 60 scorers and ties.
Practice rounds will be played Monday, July 4, through Wednesday, July 6. Eighteen holes of stroke play are scheduled each day from Thursday, July 7, through Sunday, July 10. 

If the championship is tied after four rounds, a three-hole aggregate playoff will take place immediately following the conclusion of the fourth round. If the playoff results in a tie, play will immediately continue hole by hole until a champion is determined.

July 7 (Thursday) First round, streaming coverage   8-10 a.m.
July 7 (Thursday) First round, broadcast coverage Noon-5 p.m.   Fox Sports 1
July 7 (Thursday) First round, featured group Noon-5 p.m.
July 8 (Friday) Second round, streaming coverage 8-10 a.m.
July 8 (Friday) Second round, broadcast coverage Noon-5 p.m Fox Sports 1
July 8 (Friday) Second round, featured group Noon-5 p.m
July 9 (Saturday) Third round, broadcast coverage Noon-4 p.m. Fox
July 9 (Saturday) Third round, featured group   Noon-4 p.m.
July 10 (Sunday) Fourth round, broadcast coverage Noon-4 p.m. Fox
July 10 (Sunday) Fourth round, featured group Noon-4 p.m.

The champion will receive a gold medal, custody of the Harton S. Semple Trophy for the ensuing year and an exemption from qualifying for the next 10 U.S. Women’s Open Championships.

The 2015 purse was $4.5 million, and the winner earned $810,000. The 2016 purse will be announced following the cut.

Since 1991, two players have successfully defended their championship (Annika Sorenstam, 1996; Karrie Webb, 2001), and only three other players have finished in the top 10 in the championship following their victory (Juli Inkster, 2002; Patty Sheehan, 1992; Meg Mallon, 1991).

This is the 71st U.S. Women’' Open Championship. The first U.S. Women's Open, played at Spokane (Wash.) Country Club in 1946, was the only one conducted at match play. The Women's Professional Golfers Association (WPGA) conducted the inaugural championship, won by Patty Berg. The WPGA conducted the Women’s Open until 1949, when the newly formed Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) took over operation of the championship. The LPGA ran the Women's Open for four years but in 1953 asked the United States Golf Association to conduct the championship, which it has done ever since. 

The youngest winner of the U.S. Women's Open is Inbee Park, who won the 2008 championship at the age of 19 years, 11 months, 18 days. Babe Didrikson Zaharias, who won the 1954 Women's Open at age 43 years, 6 months, is the oldest winner. 

In 1967, Catherine Lacoste, daughter of French tennis player Rene Lacoste and 1927 British Ladies Amateur champion Simone Thion de la Chaume, became the only amateur to win the U.S. Women’s Open. Six other amateurs – most recently Brittany Lang and Morgan Pressel in 2005 – have finished as runner(s)-up. 

July 13-16, 2017: Trump National G.C. (Old Course), Bedminster, N.J.
May 31-June 3, 2018: Shoal Creek (Ala.)
May 30 – June 2, 2019: Country Club of Charleston (S.C.)
June 4-7, 2020: Champions Golf Club, Houston, Texas
June 3-6, 2021: The Olympic Club, San Francisco, Calif.

No comments: